statue of liberty

The U.S. Congress has authorized the allotment of 55,000 immigrant visas in the diversity category during a fiscal year. Foreign nationals who are natives of countries determined by the I.N.S. are eligible to apply. The program apportions visa issuance among six geographic regions (Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, Oceania, and South America). To receive a visa, an individual must have at least a high school education or its equivalent, or, within the preceding five years, two years work experience in an occupation requiring at lest two years training or experience.

Countries Excluded Are:

  • China – Mainland China and Taiwan
  • India
  • Philippines 
  • Vietnam
  • South Korea
  • United Kingdom (natives of Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn, St. Helena, and the Turks and Caicos Islands are not eligible)
  • Poland
  • Canada
  • Mexico
  • Jamaica
  • El Salvador
  • Columbia
  • The Dominican Republic

If you would like to have Rihab T. Hamade’s office prepare and submit your Green Card Lottery application contact us for further instructions.

Practice Area:

Need help with any legal issues?